QLD Supermoto Titles

The Far North Queensland Road Racing Club in conjunction with Stay Upright Motorcycle Techniques held the second and final round of the 2011 Queensland Supermoto Championships at the Mako Trac International Raceway on the 6th and 7th of August. Supermoto racing is a hybrid of motocross and roadracing with riders competing on motocross and enduro bikes with 17 inch road race tyres on both dirt, including jumps, and tarmac sections of the track. The first round of the titles was held at Carnell Raceway Stanthorpe on March 11 and 12.
Over 500 spectators passed through the gates over the 2 days of the event to see some spectacular riding displays from competitors, with riders sliding the back wheel of the bikes through turn 1 at over 100km/hr. A few passing showers on both days made conditions a bit slippery particularly where the tarmac and dirt sections joined.
Trophies were awarded in 4 classes on the day S1 for highly modified bikes over 450cc, S2 for bikes up to 450cc, S3 for bikes up to 250cc and Veterans. which don’t have a capacity limit, just riders having to be over the age of 35. Trophies in all classes for the Queensland titles will be awarded at the Motorcycling Queensland Annual Awards night in Brisbane in December.
Riders travelled from as far afield as Sydney, Milperra and Newcastle to attend the event with many of the riders saying it is the most technical and the best supermoto track they have competed on. The youngest rider on the track was 18yo with the oldest, Pete ‘The Entertainer’ Cox on the northern side of 60! By far the most impressive rider of the event was Ross ‘Maestro Taylor who completed 20 six lap races over the weekend, claimed the outright and lap records in 2 classes and was
victorious in both the Veterans and the premier S1 classes.
Final results in the classes for round 2 were; S1 1: Ross Taylor, 2: Seeton Battle, 3: Thomas Gardiner. S2 1: Beau Laing, 2: Alex Harriman, 3: Luke Burgess S3 1: Beau Laing, 2: Warren Gill, 3: Luke Traill Veterans1: Ross Taylor, 2: Darren Webb, 3: Steve Coppock

Speak Your Mind